join newsletter donate now soefoundation facebook


2016 soe awardssoe buy ticketsThe Spirit of Entrepreneurship™ Foundation’s Spirit of Entrepreneurship Awards™ are designed to recognize the contributions of outstanding women entrepreneurs in Santa Barbara County to the economy as well as to support future economic growth through the recognition, financial support, and education of student entrepreneurs. In a very real way, we honor women entrepreneurs for the benefit of student entrepreneurs.

Working with the Scheinfeld Center for Entrepreneurship at Santa Barbara City College, the Foundation provides prizes (in the form of seed capital), and scholarships top three high school and collegiate student entrepreneurs (or teams of students) who win the Scheinfeld Center's New Venture Challenge business pitch competition.

lynda weinmanThe Spirit of Entrepreneurship™ Awards Dinner will be held on Friday, May 6, 2016 at the Bacara Resort from 6-8:45 pm. Prior to the SOE Awards dinner the Spirit of Entrepreneurship Startup Showcase that will be held on the patio from 5:30- 6:30 pm. This will feature all finalists of the Scheinfeld Center's New Venture Challenge, in addition to the winners, at both the high school and collegiate level.

We are thrilled to say that Lynda Weinman, co-founder and former executive chair of and an amazing role model, will be our MC for our 6th annual event.

sara miller mcuneSpecial thanks to Montecito Bank & Trust, Southern California Edison, Bank of the West, and our many other amazing sponsors for helping to underwriting student awards for the 2015 Spirit of Entrepreneurship™ Awards, where a total of $12,000 of cash prizes were given to the winning students.

This year we will be honoring outstanding women entrepreneurs in 12 categories. In addition to beautiful crystal awards from Tiffany, one of the winners who has been in business for less than 5 years will receive a special cash grant from our new Santa Barbara Entrepreneurs Giving Back Award. More information can be found in our FAQ page.

The 2016 Life Achievement Award Winner is Sara Miller McCune, founder of Sage Publications, a truly amazing role model. You can read more about Sara here.

Below are the winners of our hugely successful 5th annual Awards:

2015 winners

Seated: Lisa Grossman, Nannies2Go (Professional Services): Dr. Elizabeth Wisniewski, Genuine Chiropractic (Emerging Business); Dorothy Largay, Linked Foundation (Rock Star), and Kim Wiseley, Flutter Magazine (Media/Communications) Standing: Sandra Hirsch, Isolite Systems (Health); Kimberly True, True Nature Design (Agricultural/Wineries); Lynette La Mere, Pure Joy Catering (Hsopitality/Toursim), Kristin Faser, The Grapeseed Company (Wholesale/Manufacturing/Global Trade); Marsha Bailey, Women's Economic Ventures (Nonprofit); Marge Cafarelli, Alma del Pueblo/The Public Market (Green/Social Entrepreneurship); Anne Pazier, Santa Barbara Gift Baskets (Retail), and Anupama Vaid, ParentSquare (Science/Technology).

Learn more about the student winners here »

The Spirit of Entrepreneurship Awards™ Photos

event photos To see a slideshow by Linda Blue from the 2015 SOE Awards, click here »

The Spirit of Entrepreneurship Awards™ Video

Watch the video of the 2015 Spirit of Entrepreneurship™ Awards Ceremony by Lisa Angle of, click here »

For information about making a contribution to the Spirit of Entrepreneurship™ Foundation, a 501(c) corporation, please call 805-682-8380.